IPL 2024

As the ODI World Cup has ended, the focus is now being shifted to the shortest format of the game, T20 Cricket. The 17th edition of the Indian Premier League is likely to take place in the initial months of 2024. However, the franchises have already started gearing up for the cash-rich league as they have started making strategies and plans for the upcoming auction. The IPL 2024 auction is scheduled to take place in Dubai on December 19. However, 26th November is the final date for the teams to provide the list of all the retained and released players.

After the auction, the countdown will get started for the biggest franchise cricket league in the world. The 10 teams will compete against each other for the glory. This time, the tournament will be crucial for the players as the days after the completion of the tournament, the T20 World Cup will take place in the West Indies and the USA. The players will be looking to give their best in the tournament to cement a place in their National team for the mega cricketing event just after the IPL. 

IPL 2024 Teams

The defending champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) will be coming to retain their title for the sixth time in the upcoming season of IPL. They defeated Gujarat Titans in a thrilling final at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad to win their fifth IPL title and equal the record of Mumbai Indians (MI) to win the most titles in the tournament. CSK and MI are now two of the most successful teams in IPL with five titles each. Let’s have a look at all the 10 teams that will participate in IPL 2024.

. Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

. Gujarat Titans (GT)

. Rajasthan Royals (RR)

. Lucknow SuperGiants (LSG)

. Mumbai Indians (MI)

. Punjab Kings (PBKS)

. Delhi Capitals (DC)

. Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)

. Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)

. Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)

IPL 2024 Captains List

Talking about the captaincy roles, some of the franchises are clear about who will take charge of their team in IPL 2024. The biggest question is regarding the captaincy of Chennai Super Kings. Star-wicketkeeper batter and former India captain MS Dhoni has been leading CSK throughout the years. However, there is no confirmation whether he will appear in IPL 2024 or not. Dhoni led CSK to their fifth title in IPL 2023, and there were assumptions that it was going to be his last season for the franchise. However, Dhoni himself made it clear that he could come to play one more season if he is fit to play. Now the veteran hasn’t given any update about his retirement and the fans are assuming that he will be seen again in CSK yellow in IPL 2024. However, if Dhoni didn’t play in the upcoming season, CSK might go with Ruturaj Gaikwad as their skipper for the upcoming season. CSK’s opening batter Gaikwad recently led the Indian team to Gold Medal in the 2023 Asian Games in China. He also has been appointed as the Indian skipper for the upcoming T20I series against Australia.

Talking about other teams, Delhi Capitals missed their regular skipper Rishabh Pant as they had a forgettable season in IPL 2023. Notably, Pant met with a major car accident in December 2022 and Australia’s David Warner took over the captaincy role in his place. However, Warner couldn’t do any miracle for DC as they finished in the ninth spot at the points table with just five wins from 14 matches. 

Rishabh Pant has been recovering well, but there is no update on his availability for the IPl 2024 as he hasn’t played any kind of professional cricket for almost one year. Looking at the current scenario, David Warner is likely to take back the captaincy role again in the upcoming season. Along with him, Axar Patel could be the vice-captain. 

Let’s have a look at the captains of all franchises in IPL 2024

. Chennai Super Kings – MS Dhoni

. Mumbai Indians – Rohit Sharma

. Gujarat Titans – Hardik Pandya

. Lucknow Supergiants – KL Rahul 

. Royal Challengers Bangalore – Faf du Plessis

. Rajasthan Royals – Sanju Samson

. Punjab Kings – Shikhar Dhawan

. Delhi Capitals – David Warner/ Rishabh Pant

. Sunrisers Hyderabad – Aiden Markram 

. Kolkata Knight Riders – Shreyas Iyer

IPL 2024 Schedule, Date and Times.

The Board of Contro for Cricket in India hasn’t released any schedule for the 17th edition of IPL. However, the tournament is likely to begin at the end of May in 2024, and will go on for two months. A total of 70 matches will be played in the league stage where teams face each other at least once. The top four teams will qualify for the playoffs. 

IPL 2024 Mini Auction 

The IPL 2024 mini-auction will take place in Dubai on 19th December. In the auction, every team can have a minimum of 15 players and a maximum of 18 players in the squad. A total budget of ₹90 crore will be allotted to each franchise. A team must use at least 75% of its budget for the players. While 30-40% of the budget can be centered around their bet five players. 

IPL 2024 Venue 

10 teams means that 10 cities will host the fixtures of IPL 2024. These cities include Mohali, Chennai, Bengaluru, Delhi, Mumbai, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Kolkata, Lucknow and Ahmedabad. Apart from these, Dharamsala and Guwahati also hosted a few matches in the IPL 2023.

Where to Watch IPL 2024

Currently, the digital rights of the Indian Premier League are with Jio Cinema, while the television rights are with Star Sports. You can watch IPL on these two platforms according to your comfort 

IPL 2024 Tickets 

The BCCI hasn’t released the tickets for the IPL 2024 matches yet. The tickets are likely to be out with a month or less remaining for the tournament. You can get the tickets from the following apps or websites. 

Paytm Insider

Book My Show



Leave a Comment